Bienvenue | GALERIE D'ART DOUCE PASSION

Baldwin

Betty

Baldwin

Betty

1889 - 1981


Betty Baldwin (born Elizabeth Smiles) was born in 1889 in the Yorkshire region in England.
She was born in a family which encouraged the study of arts and she started drawing when she was only six years old. At age ten, she was already an illustrator for an English newspaper and knew considerable success. She lived in Paris, New York and Portland, Maine. She traveled to Ogunquit, Maine, numerous times and painted the landscapes of the area.

She married the violinist Percy Baldwin in 1924 and they settled together in Québec City. It was a love story between Baldwin and Québec. She considered this city to be the most beautiful place in the world for an artist, and took great pleasure depicting city scenes as well as life in the rural areas near the town. Old-Québec became her favourite subject, which she depicted in all possible angles. Baldwin left us with a rich body of work which sends the viewer back to a spirited early 20th century Québec that appears full of life. Her illustrator view is particularly visible when she depicts the city’s architecture whose straight and strong lines contrast with the masterfully applied colours. The past is brought back to life through the artist’s rich and vibrant palette, creating unique spaces that passed the test of time.

During her life, Baldwin held around twenty exhibits in the foyer of the Palais Montcalm in Québec, and taught painting in her studio located on the top floor of the Louis-Joliette house. Her depictions of Québec City and its surroundings have known great success and contributed to get the city known around the world.
She passed away in Québec City in 1981. Today, a street in the city bears the name of this artist who depicted it so many times in stunning paintings which are now in numerous collections worldwide.

Request for informations

Artists

Bienvenue | GALERIE D'ART DOUCE PASSION

Baldwin

Betty

Baldwin

Betty

1889 - 1981

Betty Baldwin (née Elizabeth Smiles) est née en 1889 dans la région du Yorkshire en Angleterre.

Issue d’une famille dans laquelle les arts étaient privilégiés, elle commence à dessiner à l’âge de six ans. À l’âge de 10 ans, elle est déjà illustratrice pour un journal anglais et connait un succès considérable. Elle vit à Paris, New York et Portland dans le Maine. Elle fait plusieurs séjours dans la région d’Ogunquit, Maine et en profite pour peindre.

Elle épouse le violoniste Percy Baldwin et en 1924, ils s’installent dans la ville de Québec. C’est une véritable histoire d’amour entre elle et la ville de Québec. Elle considère cette ville comme le plus bel endroit au monde pour un artiste et prend plaisir à peindre des scènes de la rue comme de la campagne des environs. Son sujet de prédilection est le Vieux-Québec, qu’elle illustre sous toutes ses coutures. Baldwin laisse derrière elle un riche corpus d’œuvres qui nous plongent dans le Québec du début du 20e siècle, qui apparait encore aujourd’hui resplendissant de vie et d’énergie. Son œil d’illustratrice est particulièrement visible dans ses représentations de l’architecture de la ville, dont les lignes bien affirmées contrastent avec la souplesse des couleurs appliquées avec minutie. Les personnages et animaux, lorsqu’ils sont présents, sont animés par la palette vibrante de l’artiste, rendant vivant l’écho d’un autrefois pas si lointain.

De son vivant, Baldwin tient une vingtaine d’expositions au foyer du Palais Montcalm à Québec et enseigne la peinture dans son atelier situé au dernier étage de la maison Louis-Joliette. Ses représentations de Québec et des environs connaissent un grand succès et contribuent à faire connaitre la ville au reste du monde.

Elle décède à Québec en 1981. Une rue de Québec porte aujourd’hui le nom de cette artiste qui a su immortaliser la ville dans des œuvres faisant aujourd’hui l’envie de nombreux collectionneurs à travers le monde.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes