fond-galerie
Close

Search

Currently available

No art by this artist is currently available.

Jackson, A.Y.

Jackson, A.Y.

RCA

2 recent art(s) sold

Biography

Alexander Young Jackson, CC CMG (October 3, 1882 – April 5, 1974) was a Canadian painter and a founding member of the Group of Seven. Jackson made a significant contribution to the development of art in Canada, and was successful in bringing together the artists of Montreal and Toronto. He exhibited with the Group of Seven from 1920. In addition to his work with the Group of Seven, his long career included serving as a war artist during World War I (1917–19) and teaching at the Banff School of Fine Arts, from 1943 to 1949. In his later years he was artist-in-residence at the McMichael Gallery in Kleinberg, Ontario.

In 1919, Jackson and six painter colleagues formed the Group of Seven. These artists were considered to be bold, because the Canadian wilderness had previously been considered too rugged and wild to be painted.[9] Although his name is conventionally associated with this group, he would also remain something of a loner throughout his life.

In 1925, he taught at the Ontario College of Art in Toronto; this was the only year that he missed his annual spring trip to Quebec.1933, Jackson helped found the Canadian Group of Painters. Several members of the Group of Seven later became members of this group, including Lawren Harris, A. J. Casson, Arthur Lismer and Franklin Carmichael.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Jackson

A.Y.

Jackson

A.Y.

1882 - 1974

Alexander Young Jackson, CC CMG (3 Octobre, 1882 - Avril 5, 1974) était un peintre canadien et membre fondateur du Groupe des Sept. Jackson a apporté une contribution significative au développement de l'art au Canada, et a réussi à rassembler les artistes de Montréal et de Toronto. Il expose avec le Groupe des Sept en 1920. En plus de son travail avec le Groupe des Sept, il est connu pour sa longue carrière comme un artiste de guerre pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et pour son enseignement à la Banff School of Fine Arts, à partir de 1943 à 1949. Dans ses dernières années, il a été artiste en résidence à la Galerie McMichael à Kleinberg, en Ontario.

En 1919, Jackson et six collègues peintres forment le Groupe des Sept. Ces artistes ont été considérés comme audacieux. La nature sauvage canadienne avait déjà été jugée trop sauvage et accidentée à peindre. Bien que son nom est classiquement associé à ce groupe, il restera solitaire tout au long de sa vie.

En 1925, il a enseigné à l'Ontario College of Art à Toronto; c'est la seule année où il a raté son voyage annuel de printemps à Quebec. En 1933, Jackson à participé à la fondation du Groupe des Peintres canadiens. Plusieurs membres du Groupe des Sept sont devenus plus tard membres de ce groupe, y compris Lawren Harris, AJ Casson, Arthur Lismer et Franklin Carmichael.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes