Beaulieu

Paul-Vanier RCA

Beaulieu

Paul-Vanier RCA

1910 - 1996

Paul-Vanier Beaulieu was born in Montreal on the 24th of March, 1910. His father, Joseph-Alphonse Beaulieu was a lawyer and introduced his children to art at an early age. He was an avid art collector and owned a library full of books about art. It is around age 10 that the young Paul started developing a passion for art through his father’s books.

Paul-Vanier Beaulieu quickly realized that he wanted to become a professional painter and persuaded his parents to let him study at the Montreal School of Fine Arts, which he joined at 17. Even though he had a passion for art, he did not like the institution’s rigidity and lacked discipline as a student. He aspired for more freedom, so he left the school halfway during his third year, with a dream of moving to Paris. For this, he needed more funds and so opened his own publicity studio in a building in square Philips, Montréal. His business went well for 6 years, but became hard to maintain because of the financial crisis. He then worked as a waiter and saved enough money to move to Paris and join his brother there.

Once in Paris, he was a frequent visitor of the studios of Picasso, Zadkine, Giacometti and other Canadian artists like Dallaire and Pellan. The School of Paris took over and he quickly started drawing his inspiration from great Parisian Masters. He lived a great life in Paris and created abundantly, but his dream was abruptly interrupted in 1940 when his brother and himself were arrested as civil prisoners because of their British-Canadian immigrant status. He had to stay for 4 years in a working camp in St-Denis. In 1944, a first solo exhibition of his work was held in Gallery Henriette Vallot, Vaugiard Street, and was a great success.

He came back to Québec after having stayed 7 years abroad. There, he developed an interest for the artists of the Contemporary Art Society surrounding John Lyman, including André Biéler, Paul-Émile Borduas, Stanley Cosgrove, Goodridge Roberts, Fritz Brandtner, Marian Dale Scott, Jack Humphrey and Philip Surrey. His first exhibition in Québec was presented within the walls of his family home, 3679 Laval Street. His work was inspired by great European masters of the time like Cézanne, Matisse, Braque and Picasso. The themes he explored were mainly still lifes, harlequins and circus themes.

Paul-Vanier Beaulieu was not impressed by the artistic climate of Québec, so he decided to move back to Paris, to his old studio in Montparnasse. There he created numerous pieces and received acclaim from collectors and critiques. In 1951, one of his paintings was acquired by the Paris Museum of Modern Art, and it was the first piece from a Canadian artist in the museum’s collection. He worked on painting, etching and watercolour. During the spring of 1958, he was invited by curator Bernard Dorival to present his work in the Paris Museum of Modern Art, in an exhibition titled Three Canadian Painters, alongside Alfred Pellan and Jean-Paul Riopelle.

He moved back definitely to Québec in 1973, where he kept painting with passion. He was inspired by the Laurentides landscapes. He passed away on the 20th of April 1996 in Saint-Sauveur-des-Monts.

Paul-Vanier Beaulieu’s work is part of various public collections, including the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Montreal Museum of Contemporary Art, the Canadian Museum of Fine Arts and the Québec National Museum of Fine Arts.

Request for informations

Artists

Bienvenue | GALERIE D'ART DOUCE PASSION

Beaulieu

Paul-Vanier RCA

Beaulieu

Paul-Vanier RCA

1910 - 1996

Paul-Vanier Beaulieu naît à Montréal le 24 mars 1910. Son père, avocat, initie ses enfants dès leur plus jeune âge à l’art. En effet, Joseph-Alphonse Beaulieu était collectionneur d’art et possédait une bibliothèque remplie d’ouvrages portants sur l’art. C’est à l’âge de 10 ans que le jeune Paul plonge dans l’univers artistique en feuilletant des albums d’art dans la bibliothèque.

N’ayant pas d’autres intérêts que celui de devenir peintre il réussit à convaincre ses parents et il s’inscrit à l’âge de 17 ans à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Montréal. Toutefois, même s’il se met à la tâche, l’institution ne lui plaît guère. Il trouve la tâche trop rigide et manque de discipline. Il aspire à plus de liberté. Il quitte au milieu de sa troisième année. Son rêve est d’aller vivre sa vie à Paris, mais pour ce faire il doit gagner de l’argent. Il ouvre donc son propre atelier d’art publicitaire qui se trouve dans un immeuble du square Phillips à Montréal. L’entreprise du jeune Paul survit pendant 6 ans, mais vient rapidement trop difficile à entretenir à cause de la crise financière. Il devient donc garçon de café et accumule suffisamment d’argent pour partir vers la ville Lumière rejoindre son frère.

Une fois à Paris, il fréquente Picasso, Zadkine, Giacometti et des peintres canadiens comme Dallaire et Pellan. L’école de Paris prend le dessus et il puise ses inspirations à la source en fréquentant les grands maîtres parisiens. À Paris, il mène une belle vie et y crée abondamment. Son rêve est interrompu lorsqu’en 1940 lui et son frère sont arrêtés comme prisonniers civils en tant que ressortissants canado-britanniques. Il passe quatre ans dans ce camp d’internement à St-Denis. En 1944, il obtient sa première exposition à la Galerie Henriette Vallot, rue du Vaugiard. Les tableaux trouvent preneurs, au grand plaisir de l’artiste.

Il revient au Québec après avoir passé sept ans à l’extérieur du pays. Il s’intéresse au travail des artistes regroupés autour de John Lyman (société d’art contemporain) dont, André Biéler, Paul-Émile Borduas, Stanley Cosgrove, Goodridge Roberts, Fritz Brandtner, Marian Dale Scott, Jack Humphrey et Philip Surrey. Il présente une première exposition sur les murs de la maison familiale, au 3679 rue Laval. Ses œuvres sont inspirées de grands maîtres européens de l’époque Cézanne, Matisse, Braque et Picasso. On y retrouve natures mortes, arlequins et clowneries.

Trouvant que le climat artistique du Québec n’est pas aussi éveillé que celui de la ville lumière, il prend la décision de retourner à Paris. Il y retrouve son atelier de Montparnasse. Il crée, expose et reçoit des marques d’appréciation des collectionneurs et des critiques. Il entre dans la collection du Musée national d’art moderne de Paris, en 1951. C’est la première œuvre d’un artiste canadien qui est acquise par le musée. Paul-Vanier Beaulieu est reconnu pour avoir touché à tout en peinture, gravure et aquarelle. Au printemps 1958, il est invité par le conservateur Bernard Dorival à participer au Musée national d’art moderne de Paris, à une exposition intitulée Trois peintres canadiens. Il expose avec Alfred Pellan et Jean-Paul Riopelle.

Il revient définitivement au Québec en 1973, où il continue à peindre avec passion. La nature de la région des Laurentides où il s’installe l’inspire. Il décède le 20 avril 1996 à Saint-Sauveur-des-Monts.

Les œuvres de Paul-Vanier Beaulieu ont été acquises par plusieurs collections publiques d’importance, entre autres, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et le Musée National des beaux-arts du Québec.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes