Bienvenue | GALERIE D'ART DOUCE PASSION

Gagnon

Clarence A. RCA

Gagnon

Clarence A. RCA

1881 - 1942

Born November 8, 1881 in Montreal Died January 5, 1942 in Montreal "I did not installed in Paris sensitivity of the misunderstood (......) Over there, I paint only Canadian, I dream in Canada. The pattern remains fixed in my mind and I do not let myself captivated by the charms of the landscape change. Switzerland, Scandinavia-everywhere, I recall my French Canada. »

- Clarence Gagnon, 1931

Award-winning writer, outdoor enthusiast and advocate of Quebec crafts, Clarence Gagnon is best known for his landscapes of the Quebec countryside and illustrations from the novel by Louis Hemon's Maria Chapdelaine.

Gagnon was born in a small village in Quebec. Despite his Paris workshop training and it keeps it throughout his career, he never lost his love of the Laurentians and the Charlevoix region in eastern Quebec that will inspire her many paintings. It was his mother who feeds his early interest in drawing and, despite the desire of his father to see him a career in business, he began studying drawing and painting in 1897 at the age of 16 to William Brymner of the Art Association of Montreal.

His early paintings on rural themes bite businessman's interest and Montréal collector, James Morgan, who became his patron. Through monthly fees it pays him Gagnon can travel to Europe to study at the Académie Julian in Paris with Jean-Paul Laurens in 1904 and 1905. T OT in his career, it is distinguished by the quality of his prints . In 1905, he received an honorable mention at the Salon of French Artists Society of Paris.

Request for informations

Artists

Gagnon

Clarence A. RCA

Gagnon

Clarence A. RCA

1881 - 1942

Clarence A. Gagnon est né le 8 novembre 1881 à Montréal et est décédé le 5 janvier 1942 à Montréal. Il a dit « Je ne me suis pas installé à Paris par délicatesse d'incompris (......) Là -bas, je ne peins que du canadien, je ne rêve qu'au Canada. Le motif reste fixé dans mon esprit et je ne me laisse pas capter par les charmes du changement de paysage. En Suisse, en Scandinave, partout, je retrouve mon Canada français. »
- Clarence Gagnon, 1931

Graveur primé, passionné de plein air et ardent défenseur des métiers d’art du Québec, Clarence Gagnon est surtout connu pour ses paysages de la campagne québécoise et ses illustrations du roman de Louis Hémon, Maria Chapdelaine.

Gagnon a vu le jour dans un petit village du Québec. Malgré sa formation parisienne et l’atelier qu’il y conserve durant toute sa carrière, il ne perd jamais son amour des Laurentides et de la région de Charlevoix dans l’est du Québec qui lui inspireront de nombreux tableaux. C’est sa mère qui nourrit son intérêt précoce pour le dessin et, malgré le désir de son père de lui voir embrasser une carrière dans les affaires, il commence à étudier le dessin et la peinture en 1897 à l’âge de 16 ans auprès de William Brymner de l’Art Association of Montreal.

Ses premiers tableaux, sur des thèmes ruraux, piquent l’intérêt de l’homme d’affaires et collectionneur montréalais, James Morgan, qui devient son mécène. Grâce aux émoluments mensuels qu’il lui verse, Gagnon peut voyager en Europe pour étudier à l’Académie Julian de Paris auprès de Jean-Paul Laurens en 1904 et 1905. Tôt dans sa carrière, il se distingue par la qualité de ses gravures. En 1905, il obtient une mention honorable au Salon de la Société des artistes français de Paris.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes