fbpx

Dion

Eddy

Dion

Eddy

1937 -

Eddy Dion was born in Quebec City in 1937. At a very young age, he is attracted by drawing for which he already shows an extraordinary sensitivity. A versatile and curious artist, he learned how to work with several mediums, including oil, acrylic, and pastel. In the 1980s, he studied at the Silvia Araya Academy of Fine Arts in Quebec City for three years, and then studied in the United States with Daniel Green, a renowned portraitist. These trainings help him find his own color and define his style and eventually bring him to devote himself to painting full time. He opened his first studio / gallery in 1985, in Saint-Irénée in Charlevoix.

This magnificent region with its rustic countryside, breathtaking mountains and the majestic edges of the St. Lawrence River, becomes his primary inspiration inhabiting most of his paintings. However, he continues to make cityscapes, portraits, and still lifes. He also explores abstraction with whirling and dazzling works.

"I try to make a lot of light pass through my paintings. I like all the seasons, the sea, the boats, flamboyant landscapes... I like to work with a brilliant lacquer on my modern works" explains Eddy in an interview given to the newspaper Le Charlevoisien in 2009.
Throughout his long artistic career, the painter has been represented by several galleries and has participated in multiple artistic exhibitions and symposia. His paintings are part of several prestigious collections all over Quebec. Still in love with the Charlevoix region, his workshop is now located in the village of Les Éboulements.

Request for informations

Artists

Dion

Eddy

Dion

Eddy

1937 -

Eddy Dion est né à Québec en 1937 et très jeune, il est attiré par le dessin pour lequel il possède déjà une sensibilité hors du commun. Artiste polyvalent et curieux, il apprend à travailler plusieurs médiums, dont l’huile, l’acrylique et le pastel. Dans les années 80, il étudie trois ans à l’Académie des beaux-arts Silvia Araya dans la ville de Québec et fait aussi un stage aux États-Unis avec Daniel Green, un portraitiste de très grand renom. Ces formations l’aident à trouver sa propre couleur et à définir son style, ce qui par la suite, l’amènent à se consacrer à la peinture à temps plein. Il ouvre son premier atelier/galerie en 1985, à Saint-Irénée dans Charlevoix.

Cette région magnifique, avec à la fois des campagnes rustiques, des montagnes à couper le souffle et les bords du majestueux fleuve St-Laurent, devient son inspiration première et habite la majorité de ses toiles, bien qu’il continue à faire des scènes de ville, des portraits et des natures mortes. Il explore aussi l’abstraction avec des œuvres tourbillonnantes et brillantes.

« J’essaie de faire passer beaucoup de lumière dans mes tableaux. J’aime toutes les saisons, la mer, les bateaux, les paysages grandioses… J’aime bien travailler avec une laque brillante sur des œuvres plus modernes » explique Eddy dans une entrevue donnée au journal Le Charlevoisien en 2009.

Au fil de sa longue carrière artistique, le peintre a été représenté par plusieurs galeries et a participé à de multiples expositions et symposiums artistiques. Ses toiles font parties de plusieurs collections prestigieuses à travers le Québec. Toujours amoureux de Charlevoix, son espace atelier est maintenant installé dans un village de Charlevoix, Les Éboulements.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes