Coburn

Frederick Simpson RCA

Coburn

Frederick Simpson RCA

1871 - 1960

Frederick S. Coburn was born in Upper Melbourne in 1871. He has know an illustrious career both as a painter and as an illustrator and is known for his landscapes, still-life paintings and his drawings. He first studied at the Council of arts and manufacture of Montreal in 1887 and 1888 and at the Carl Hecker School of Art in New York in 1889 before going to Europe on the following year, where he stayed until 1916. He then studied at the Berlin Academy, at the Academy of Fine Arts in Paris and in various places in London and in Belgium, all to perfect his artistic techniques. In Anvers, Belgium, he met his future wife, artist Malvina Scheepers, with whom he would later establish a studio in his hometown, Upper Melbourne. Coburn gained renown as an illustrator notably for his work illustrating Canadian poet W.H. Drummond’s The Habitant. After that, his drawings where used to illustrate the works of numerous American, English and Canadians authors such as Louis-Honoré Fréchette, Washington Irving, Charles Dickens, Edgar Allan Poe and Alfred Lord Tennyson for the New-York based company G.P. Putnam.
However, Coburn is known mainly for his Canadian winter landscape scenes which star horses and sleighs. These scenes have given him unprecedented renown for a Canadian painter. The artist has a unique way of depicting winter, with luminous cloudy skies. The term ‘Coburn Sky’ comes from his technique. The imagery from his scenes typically show horses carrying sleighs full of logs through snowy forests or sunny country roads. These scenes contrast with his earlier works, which were a lot darker. From 1900, the artist started incorporating in his works the techniques he acquired in Europe, adapting them to his own style. He started focusing on floral subjects and spring landscapes from the Eastern Townships of Québec, inspired by his friend and mentor Maurice Cullen and by his love for the Canadian winter. In 1928, at the age of 57, Coburn is elected a member of the Canadian Royal Academy of Arts.
The most important collection of Coburn’s works is exhibited at the Sherbrooke Museum of Fine Arts in Québec. His paintings can also be seen in galleries, museums and temporary exhibits throughout Canada and around the world.

Request for informations

Artists

Coburn

Frederick Simpson RCA

Coburn

Frederick Simpson RCA

1871 - 1960

C’est dans la petite ville d’Upper Melbourne que naît en 1871, Frederick S. Coburn. Peintre, illustrateur, on lui doit une œuvre très dense, composée de natures mortes, de portraits et d’illustrations. Il étudia d’abord au Conseil des arts et manufactures de Montréal entre 1887 et 1888 ainsi qu’à la Carl Hecker School of Art de New York en 1889 avant de se rendre en Europe l’année suivante où il y reste jusqu’en 1916. Il s’inscrit à l'Académie de Berlin, à l'École des Beaux-Arts à Paris et étudie également à Londres, en Belgique où il acquiert différentes techniques artistiques. Il rencontre aussi sa future épouse, l’artiste belge Malvina Scheepers à Anvers avec laquelle il établit un home-studio dans son village natal à Upper Melbourne. Il acquiert une bonne réputation en tant qu’illustrateur notamment avec la publication illustrée de The Habitant du poète canadien W.H Drummond. Par la suite, ses dessins illustrent de nombreuses œuvres d'auteurs américains, anglais et canadiens comme Louis-Honoré Fréchette, Washington Irving, Charles Dickens, Edgar Allan Poe et Alfred Lord Tennyson pour le compte de la compagnie new-yorkaise G.P Putnam.

Mais il est reste principalement connu pour ses fameux paysages hivernaux canadiens mettant en scène chevaux et traîneaux pour lesquelles il reçoit une renommée sans précédente à l’époque pour un peintre canadien.

Coburn avait une façon unique de traiter l’hiver en peignant des ciels et des nuages lumineux. Le terme Coburn Sky provient notamment de cette technique particulière du peintre. L’imagerie qui se dégage de ses toiles montrant des chevaux tirant des traîneaux rouges remplis de bûches à travers des forêts enneigées et des routes de campagne ensoleillées marqua l'esprit de son époque. Ses peintures contrastent notamment avec ses premières illustrations aux tons plus sombre. À partir de 1900, l’artiste intégra les techniques apprises en Europe tout en se les adaptant. Se focalisant d'abord sur les sujets florales et les paysages printaniers et estivaux des Cantons-de-l'Est, il s’inspira de son ami et mentor Maurice Cullen et de son amour pour l’hiver canadien afin de doter ses œuvres de couleurs vives et puissantes. En 1928, à 57 ans, Coburn est élu membre de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada.

La plus importante collection de l'œuvre de Coburn est exposée en permanence au Musée des beaux-arts de Sherbrooke au Québec. Ses peintures peuvent également être vues dans des galeries, des musées, des expositions itinérantes du Canada ainsi que partout dans le monde, dans des collections privées allant jusqu’au Japon.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes