Genest

Margo

Genest

Margo

1950 -

Margo Genest was born in 1950 in the small village of St-Nicolas in the Centre-du-Québec region. At a young age, she studied piano and violin and the Conservatoire de musique et d’art dramatique du Québec. The family environment in which she grew up naturally brought her to develop her creativity. As an adult, she lived for almost 20 years in the north of Québec where she was inspired by the beautiful boreal landscapes. In 1990, life brought her back to the city, where she discovered sculpture at the Saydie Bronfman School of Fine Arts in Montreal.

The classical education she received helped shape her habit of constantly looking for the essence of things, events and people. She applies it in her work, creating pieces that are refined and symbolic. Sometimes, they depict the fundamental elements of the universe: water, fire, air and earth; sometimes, they plead for the environmental case. Margo Genest’s sculptural universe is inhabited by her current life environment, which is the mountains and lakes of Charlevoix in Québec. The defining trait of her work is the use of simple lines that inspire both simplicity and abundance.

Her minimalistic style brings her subjects back to their essence. The pieces “Une goutte en partage” and “Glacier” suggest the moving reflection of a vital element, water, which appears in different shapes to every person.
More recently, she has developed a new technique using tin, a material she likes for its luminous and crystalline effects that are enriched by a process of patina and polishing. Her recent work reflects her lifestyle which is full of light and intensity. Bronze has also always been part of her production.

Margo Genest exhibited in numerous European countries. She also exhibited in Los Angeles in 2011, where she represented Québec in the international event “Québec in Hollywood”, which had the objective of promoting the Québec culture abroad.

Request for informations

Artists

Genest

Margo

Genest

Margo

1950 -

Margo Genest est née en 1950 à St-Nicolas, petit village au centre du Québec. Dès son jeune âge, elle étudie le piano et le violon au Conservatoire de Musique et d’Art dramatique du Québec. Son milieu familial modeste l’amène tout naturellement à développer sa créativité. Devenue adulte, elle vit près de 20 ans au nord du Québec à s’inspirer des plus beaux paysages boréaux. En 1990, la vie la ramène dans les grands centres où elle découvre la sculpture à l’École des Beaux-arts Saydie Bronfman de Montréal.

Son éducation et sa formation classique contribuent à constamment la ramener à l’essence des choses, des événements et des êtres. Cela se traduit dans son oeuvre épuré et souvent symbolique. Tantôt, il rappelle les éléments fondamentaux de l’univers: l’eau, le feu, l’air et la terre. Tantôt, il plaide la cause environnementale. L’univers sculptural de cette artiste est habité par son milieu de vie actuel au coeur des montagnes et des lacs de Charlevoix au Québec. Son empreinte artistique est marquée de lignes sobres qui inspirent à la fois la simplicité et l’abondance.

Le style minimaliste de ses pièces fait ressortir l’essence même du sujet. Dans ce sens, par ses variations formelles, l’oeuvre «Une goutte en partage» et «Glacier» suggèrent le reflet changeant d’un élément vital, l’eau, qui se donne sous différentes formes et inlassablement à chacun.

Plus récemment, elle a développé une nouvelle technique à base d’étain, matière qu'elle affectionne particulièrement pour son effet lumineux et cristallin qu'elle enrichit par des étapes de patine et de polissage. Ses plus récentes productions sont à l'image de son style de vie toute en intensité et en lumière. Le bronze fait toujours partie de son travail.

Margo Genest a exposé dans plusieurs pays d’Europe ainsi qu’à Los Angeles en 2011 alors qu’elle représentait le Québec lors de l’événement international «Québec à Hollywood» visant à promouvoir la culture Québecoise à l’étranger.


Demande de renseignements

Artistes