fond-galerie
Close

Search

Currently available

No art by this artist is currently available.

Pfeiffer, Gordon

1 recent art(s) sold

Biography

Gordon Pfeiffer first studied art in his hometown of Québec City before leaving for Paris to complete his training. Among the artists who influenced him, we can name, André Bieler, Robert Pilot and Horatio Walker. Besides the cherished spaces in Québec such as the Island of Orleans and the Charlevoix region north of the city, he created works in England and Ireland.

Certain influential people like Corinne Dupuis-Maillet contributed to the development of many young artists and Pfeiffer was among these upcoming protégés. She was helpful in the introduction to the Montreal market to those under her wing. We can also recall Dr. Max Stern, both a collector and gallerist in Montreal who contributed to the emergence of many artists.

From 1928 to 1954 he participated in Spring Salons of Art Association of Montreal which would become the Fine Art Museum of Montreal as well as collective showings of the Royal Canadian Academy from 1928 to 1951. His works were shown in many galleries such as the Pauline Johnson Gallery and the Colbert Gallery in Montreal and at the Chateau Frontenac in Québec City.

He created with oil, pastels and water colours in the production of his landscapes which brought him a definite acclaim.

Subscribe to our newsletter

fbpx

Pfeiffer

Gordon

Pfeiffer

Gordon

1899 - 1983

Gordon Pfeiffer effectuera d’abord des études en arts à Québec, sa ville d’origine, avant de s’envoler pour Paris et parfaire sa formation. On compte parmi ses influences André Bieler, Robert Pilot et Horatio Walker. Outre Charlevoix et l’Île d’Orléans, lieux qu’il chérira pour peindre, il créera également en Angleterre et en Irlande.

Sur son chemin, certaines rencontres ont contribué à développer sa carrière comme celle avec Corinne Dupuis-Maillet, une sorte de mécène pour les jeunes artistes, qui l’a aidé à s’introduire dans le milieu artistique montréalais et lui a acheté nombre de tableaux. On compte aussi le renommé Dr. Max Stern, collectionneur et galeriste montréalais qui a contribué à l’essor de plusieurs artistes au Canada.

Il participera de 1928 à 1954 aux Salons du printemps de la ‘’Art Association of Montreal’’, qui deviendra le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal ainsi qu’aux expositions collectives de l’Académie Royale du Canada de 1928 à 1951. Il exposera également dans plusieurs galeries, entre autres, à la galerie Pauline Johnson et à la galerie Colbert à Montréal ainsi qu’au Château Frontenac à Québec.

Il abordera tant l’huile, le pastel que l’aquarelle pour faire émerger des paysages et des nus qui feront sa marque.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes