fond-galerie
Close

Search

Currently available

No art by this artist is currently available.

Grondin, Jean-Luc

Grondin, Jean-Luc

3 recent art(s) sold

Biography

Born in Saint-Gédéon in 1938, Jean-Luc Grondin developed a passion for drawing at a very young age. He especially loves birds and nature. From the age of ten, he was already taking the opportunity to observe the birds around his parents’ house with his binoculars. A disciplined student, he often stayed after school hours to perfect his mastery of drawing, then, in 1953, he started his studies at the École des Beaux-Arts de Québec.

In 1964, Grondin was hired as an applied arts technician at the Quebec Zoological Garden where his work consisted of producing posters and illustrations so that visitors could identify the different species. In his free time, he worked on his projects such as creating illustrations for a book about birds. Discovering the pleasure of working at home, he left his job in 1974 and decided to devote himself completely to his art.

Depending on whether he is familiar with a subject or not, he may draw up to 25 to 30 sketches before starting to paint. Grondin works with gouache, a medium which allows him to better render the muted colors of the northern birds frequenting the Laurentians. Today, the artist’s reputation extends beyond Canadian borders.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Grondin

Jean-Luc

Grondin

Jean-Luc

1938 -

Né à Saint-Gédéon en 1938, Jean-Luc Grondin se passionne très jeune pour le dessin. Il affectionne surtout les oiseaux et la nature. Dès l’âge de dix ans, il en profite déjà pour observer, avec ses jumelles, les oiseaux autour de la maison de ses parents. Élève discipliné, il demeure souvent après les heures de classe afin de parfaire sa maîtrise du dessin, puis, en 1953, il fait son entrée à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Québec.

En 1964, Grondin est engagé comme technicien en arts appliqués au jardin zoologique de Québec où son travail consiste à produire des affiches et illustrations afin que les visiteurs puissent identifier les différentes espèces. Lors de ses temps libres, il travaille sur ses projets telle la réalisation des illustrations d’un livre sur les oiseaux. Découvrant le plaisir de travailler chez-soi, il quitte son travail en 1974 et décide de se consacrer totalement à son art.

Selon qu’il est familier ou non avec un sujet, il peut dessiner jusqu’à 25 à 30 croquis avant de commencer à peindre. Grondin travaille avec de la gouache, médium qui lui permet de mieux rendre les couleurs atténuées des oiseaux du nord fréquentant les Laurentides. Aujourd’hui, la réputation de l’artiste s’étend au-delà des frontières canadiennes.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes