fond-galerie
Close

Search

Biography

Edmond LeMoine was born in 1877 in Québec and died in 1922. He was renowned for his many artistic talents and worked as a landscape, portrait and genre painter as well as an illustrator and a Fine Arts teacher. He was a student of Charles Huot and founded with other artists, among which was Frank Carel, the Québec Society of Artists (known today as the Society of Arts, Sciences and Literature).

LeMoine studied for two years at the Anvers Academy of Fine Arts in Belgium. In 1908, he exhibited at the Salon of the Art Association of Montreal, where he stayed for nine years. In 1911, he was commissioned by the Canadian Committee for A Montcalm Memorial Monument in Québec to paint a view of the Anse au Foulon, formerly known as the Anse de Wolfe. During a second trip in Europe in 1913, he studied at the Colarossi Academy in Paris.

Back in Québec, he worked as a drawing and painting teacher at the Québec Academy of Fine Arts. He died suddenly in 1922, and a retrospective exhibition of his work was held by the Séminaire de Québec (today Université Laval) on the same year. Approximately 325 of his pieces are part of the Québec National Museum of Fine Arts collection and numerous others can be found in the collection of the Ottawa Museum of Fine Arts.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Bienvenue | GALERIE D'ART DOUCE PASSION

LeMoine

Edmond

LeMoine

Edmond

1877 - 1922

Edmond LeMoine est né en 1877 à Québec et est décédé en 1922. Reconnu pour ses multiples talents, il était à la fois paysagiste, portraitiste, illustrateur et professeur des Beaux-Arts. Élève de Charles Huot, il fonde avec lui et d’autres artistes, dont Frank Carrel, La Société des artistes du Québec, connue maintenant sous le nom de Société des Arts, des sciences et des Lettres.

Par la suite, pendant deux ans, il poursuit des études à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers en Belgique. En 1908, il débute au Salon de l’Art Association of Montréal. Il y figure pendant neuf ans. Il est chargé, en 1911, par le comité Canadien pour l’érection d’un monument à Montcalm à Québec, de peindre une vue de l’Anse au Foulon connue anciennement sous le nom de l’Anse de Wolfe. Lors d’un second voyage en Europe en 1913, il étudie à l’Académie Colarossi à Paris.

À son retour, au Québec, il est nommé professeur de dessin et de peinture à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Québec. Il décède subitement en 1922. Une exposition rétrospective honore sa mémoire, au séminaire de Québec, en novembre 1922. On retrouve approximativement 325 de ses œuvres dans la collection du Musée des Beaux-Arts de Québec et plusieurs au musée des Beaux-Arts d’Ottawa.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes