Boisvert

Normand

Boisvert

Normand

1950 -

Born February 25, 1950, Normand Boisvert is the only boy of a family of 9 children. His parents were fruits and vegetable sellers at the local market. The family lived in the working-class neighborhood of Trois-Rivières, a small industrial town from the French province of Quebec in Canada.

For the young Normand, school was a boring place that brought him to draw portraits during his classes. At the age of 15, he left school to go work with his father. He kept drawing portraits as well as comic books while working different jobs to survive. He dreamt of an artistic career, so he registered and the Trois-Rivière college to learn to paint. But the art taught there did not touch the young Boisvert’ artistic approach. After his first year, he left school.

His father had a local attached to the house and he suggested that Normand installed his studio-room there. It was his first studio at the age of 17. He stayed there for two years, selling his drawing and paintings for $5 and $15, allowing him to provide for himself. He produced art with such enthusiasm and discipline. It was at that time that he discovered regional artists such as Léo Ayotte and Raymond Lasnier.

At 19, to improve his lot, he worked in a rotisserie and, by chance, an empty room was next to it. He moved in this room which had a bedroom and kitchen corner, as well as a big window to exhibit his art. He worked relentlessly but was still seeking answers to his artist’s anxieties. He then registered, in September of 1971, at Quebec’s University of Trois-Rivière in visual arts. He quickly understood, after the first class, that it was not the path he had hoped for.

At the same time, he exhibited his work at the Cultural Center of his town and found great success there. The local press praised him. He had more and more success selling his art and left the University after a brief stint.

Boisvert then started giving painting lessons. He was only teaching what he knew, having no college or university diploma and having taught himself. He had much success and continued teaching for the next 10 years. The income generated by the painting lessons gave him some financial stability.

He exhibited more and more in shopping centers and at various events and made himself known to the public through radio, television and newspapers. From 1972 to 1974, he did a series of painting classes for a local television network.

At the beginning of the 80’s, he was asked to preside over cultural events by several regional organizations. His exhibits were multiplying quickly, the peak of which was undoubtedly the launch of his book " Normand Boisvert, Un peintre en Mauricie : peintures de l’artiste" (1980), accompanied by a solo exhibition at the Shawinigan Cultural Center.

Request for informations

Artists

Boisvert

Normand

Boisvert

Normand

1950 -

Né le 25 février 1950, Normand Boisvert est le seul garçon d’une famille de 9 enfants comptant 8 filles. Ses parents sont marchands de fruits et légumes au Marché local. La famille habite un quartier ouvrier de Trois-Rivières, une petite ville industrielle francophone de la province de Québec au Canada.

Pour le jeune Normand, l’école est un milieu un peu ennuyant qui le porte à dessiner des portraits durant ses cours. Dès l’âge de 15 ans, il quitte l’école pour aller travailler avec son père. Il continue inlassablement à faire des portraits et des bandes dessinées tout en occupant divers emplois afin de pouvoir survivre. Il rêve d’une carrière d’artiste et s’inscrit alors au Collège de Trois-Rivières dans le but d’apprendre à peindre. Mais l’art qu’on y enseigne ne rejoint pas le jeune Boisvert dans sa démarche artistique. Après la première année, il quitte.

Son père, ayant un local annexe à la maison familiale, il offre à son fils Normand d’y installer sa chambre-atelier. C’est alors son premier atelier à l’âge de 17 ans. Il y reste 2 ans et vend ses dessins et peintures au prix de $5 et $15, ce qui lui permet de subvenir à ses maigres besoins. Il produit alors avec ferveur et discipline dessins et peintures. C’est à la même époque qu’il découvre les peintres régionaux tels Léo Ayotte et Raymond Lasnier.

À 19 ans, pour améliorer son sort, il occupe alors un emploi dans une rôtisserie et par hasard, il y a un local voisin inoccupé. Il déménage alors dans ce local qui comprend également un coin chambre et cuisine ainsi qu’une grande vitrine pour exposer ses œuvres. Il s’acharne au travail mais cherche encore des réponses à ses angoisses d’artiste. Il s’inscrit alors en septembre 1971 à l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières en arts plastiques. Il se rend rapidement compte après le premier cours que ce ne sera pas le cheminement espéré qu’il y trouvera.

À la même époque, il expose au Centre Culturel de sa ville et y remporte un grand succès. La presse locale en fait d’ailleurs l’éloge. Il a de plus en plus de succès à vendre ses œuvres et quitte l’Université après un bref passage.

Boisvert commence alors à donner des cours de peinture. Il se contente de transmettre ce qu’il sait, lui qui n’a ni collège ni université étant un jeune peintre autodidacte. Il connaît beaucoup de succès et continue ainsi durant une dizaine d’années. Les revenus générés par les cours lui garantissent une certaine stabilité financière.

Il expose de plus en plus dans des centres commerciaux et lors d’événements divers et se fait connaître du public par l’entremise de la radio, de la télévision et des journaux. De 1972 à 1974, il réalise des séries de cours de peinture pour un réseau local de télévision.

Au début des années 80, il est de plus en plus sollicité par les organismes de la région pour présider des événements culturels. Les expositions se multiplient à un rythme effarant, dont le paroxysme est sans contredit le lancement, au Centre culturel de Shawinigan, de son livre “Normand Boisvert, Un peintre en Mauricie : peintures de l’artiste » (1980), accompagné d’une exposition solo.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes