fond-galerie
Close

Search

Currently available

No art by this artist is currently available.

Taylor, Frederick Bourchier

Taylor, Frederick Bourchier

RCA

1 recent art(s) sold

Biography

Fred Bourchier Taylor was born in Ottawa in 1906. In the 1930s and 1940s he became nationally known for his paintings and prints of war industry workers, street scenes of downtown Montreal and its urban architectural settings. In 1925, he enrolled at McGill University in Montreal to study architecture. In 1929, he began drawing lessons with Edmond Dyonnet.

In 1930, he received a scholarship to continue his studies in art in Europe. In 1931, he trained with Charles-Edouard Jeanneret, known as Le Corbusier, one of the pioneers of what is called “modern architecture” and he also studied art history at the Sorbonne. Back in Canada, Fred settled in Ottawa where he studied drawing and etching with Ernest Fosbery.

In 1951, Taylor had a solo exhibition at the Dominion Gallery, Montreal, where he exhibited 80 paintings depicting views of Montreal, Quebec, and Nova Scotia. From 1950 to 1953, he painted a series of works of art focusing on workers, such as fishermen, loggers and shore workers.

Between 1954 and 1959, Taylor began a series of long stays in Mexico with his second wife, the painter Nova Hecht, and in 1960, settled permanently in San Miguel de Allende. Suffering from arthritis, he began to explore screen printing. In 1963, after traveling in Europe for a few months, Taylor presented a solo exhibition of his paintings at The Artlenders gallery in Montreal where he showed Mexican street scenes, markets and portraits. He also began to sculpt bronze and stone at this time.

Between 1963 and 1973, he exhibited regularly in Montreal and Toronto, among others. In 1971, he donated 75 etchings to the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts.

Throughout her long career, Taylor exhibited extensively in Canada, the United States, England and Mexico, and between 1932 and 1963 her work was the subject of 14 solo exhibitions. Fred Taylor died in San Miguel de Allende in 1987.

Subscribe to our newsletter

fond-galerie
Fermer

Recherchez

Présentement disponibles

Aucune oeuvre de cet(te) artiste n'est disponible présentement.

Taylor, Frederick Bourchier

Taylor, Frederick Bourchier

RCA

1 oeuvre(s) récemment vendu(s)

Biographie

Fred Bourchier Taylor est né à Ottawa en 1906. Dans les années 1930 et 1940, il est devenu connu à l’échelle nationale pour ses peintures et gravures de travailleurs de l’industrie de guerre, ses scènes de rue du centre-ville de Montréal et ses décors architecturaux urbains. En 1925, il s’inscrit à l’Université McGill, à Montréal, pour étudier l’architecture, En 1929, il commence des cours de dessin avec Edmond Dyonnet.

En 1930, il reçoit une bourse pour poursuivre ses études en art en Europe. En 1931, il se forme auprès de Charles-Edouard Jeanneret, dit Le Corbusier, l’un des pionniers de ce qu’on appelle « l’architecture moderne » et il étudie également l’histoire de l’art à la Sorbonne. De retour au Canada, Fred s’installe à Ottawa où il étudie le dessin et l’eau-forte avec Ernest Fosbery.

En 1951, Taylor présente une exposition solo à la Dominion Gallery, à Montréal, où il expose 80 peintures représentant des vues de Montréal, du Québec et de la Nouvelle-Écosse. De 1950 à 1953, il peint une série d’œuvres d’art axées sur les ouvriers, tels que les pêcheurs, les bûcherons et les travailleurs à terre.

Entre 1954 et 1959, Taylor entame une série de longs séjours au Mexique avec sa seconde épouse, la peintre Nova Hecht, et en 1960, s’installe définitivement à San Miguel de Allende. Atteint d’arthrite, il commence à explorer la sérigraphie. En 1963, après avoir voyagé en Europe pendant quelques mois, Taylor présente une exposition solo de ses peintures à la galerie The Artlenders à Montréal où il montre des scènes de rue mexicaines, des marchés et des portraits. Il commence également à sculpter le bronze et la pierre à cette époque.

Entre 1963 et 1973, il expose régulièrement à Montréal et à Toronto entre autres. En 1971, il fait don de 75 eaux-fortes au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal.

Tout au long de sa longue carrière, Taylor a beaucoup exposé au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Angleterre et au Mexique, et entre 1932 et 1963, son travail a fait l’objet de 14 expositions individuelles. Fred Taylor est mort à San Miguel de Allende en 1987.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre