fond-galerie
Close

Search

Ladouceur, Jean-Paul

Ladouceur, Jean-Paul

Biography

Jean-Paul Ladouceur was born in Montreal in 1921. He was, among other things, a watercolorist, a decorator, and a director of animated films.

In Quebec, he is best known for his characters in Pépinot et Capucine, a children’s television series, although he is the recipient of an Oscar for one of his animated films. In the arts world, he is seen as a major influence in watercolour.

He studied at the École des beaux-arts de Montréal, Sir George Williams College (now Concordia University) and the Université de Montréal.

He held various positions for the following companies: ONF, Radio-Canada, France-Film and Réseau TVA. He held many titles: graphic designer, animator, decorator, screenwriter, illustrator, director, producer, director of animated films, actor, presenter, instructor, program director and creativity advisor. His professional career led him to be a member of management for these same companies.

For the last twenty years of his life, he focused on painting, watercolour teaching, and art journalism. At the time of his death, he had accumulated more than 55 years of work in illustration and other forms of visual art.

He has exhibited in numerous art galleries in Montreal, Toronto and Ottawa. His paintings are found in various corporate or institutional collections, such as those of CN Hotels, the CMQ, the Royal Court of the Netherlands, Métro, Domtar and Unicef. More than one book on art is devoted to him.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Ladouceur

Jean-Paul

Ladouceur

Jean-Paul

1921 - 1992

Jean-Paul Ladouceur est né à Montréal en 1921. Il était, entre autres, aquarelliste, décorateur, réalisateur et directeur de films d’animation québécois.

Au Québec, il est surtout connu pour ses personnages de Pépinot et Capucine, une série télévisée pour enfants, même s’il est récipiendaire d’un Oscar pour l’un de ses films d’animation. Dans le milieu des arts, on le perçoit comme une influence majeure en aquarelle.

Il a fait ses études à l’École des beaux-arts de Montréal, au Sir George Williams College (aujourd’hui l’Université Concordia) et à l’Université de Montréal.

Il a occupé différents postes pour les sociétés suivantes : ONF, Radio-Canada, France-Film et Réseau TVA. Ceux-ci sont diversifiés, graphiste, animateur, décorateur, scénariste, illustrateur, réalisateur, producteur, directeur de films d’animation, comédien, présentateur, instructeur, directeur des programmes et conseiller en créativité. Son parcours professionnel l’a amené à être membre de la direction pour ces mêmes sociétés.

Pendant les vingt dernières années de sa vie, il s’est concentré sur la peinture, l’enseignement de l’aquarelle et le journalisme d’art. À son décès, il avait cumulé plus de 55 années de travail en illustration et autres formes d’art visuel.

Il a exposé dans de nombreuses galeries d’arts à Montréal, Toronto et Ottawa. Ses tableaux se retrouvent dans différents collections corporatives ou institutionnelles, telles celles des Hôtels CN, le CMQ, la cour royale des Pays-Bas, Métro, Domtar et Unicef. Plus d’un livre sur l’art lui est consacré.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes