fond-galerie
Close

Search

Charlesworth, Rod

Charlesworth, Rod

Biography

“It’s just paint … have fun with it!” is Rod Charlesworth’s philosophy.

He was born in 1955 in Terrace, British Columbia, then moved to Kelowna in the Okanagan Valley when he was seven years old. His fascination with drawing and painting grew into a unique and primarily self-taught style, influenced by the Surrealist movement in its earliest forms. Later, his discovery of impressionism inspired him to experiment with colours and the physical capabilities of paint.

Rod Charlesworth studied art at Okanagan College where his ability to express the beauty of western Canadian landscapes grew. The work of Tom Thomson as well as that of the Group of Seven profoundly influenced Charlesworth’s style.

Armed with his commitment to painting images with a strong Canadian cultural influence, Charlesworth’s works are now collected across the world. Whether through his ambitious landscapes, or his more recent whimsical depictions of children at play, Charlesworth enchants with his unique aesthetic.

Subscribe to our newsletter

fond-galerie
Fermer

Recherchez

Présentement disponibles

Charlesworth, Rod

Charlesworth, Rod

Biographie

« Ce n’est que de la peinture… amusez vous! » est la philosophie de Rob Charlesworth.

Il est né en 1955, à Terrace en Colombie-Britannique, pour ensuite déménager à Kelowna dans la vallée de l’Okanagan lorsqu’il avait sept ans. Sa fascination avec le dessin et la peinture grandit en un style unique et principalement autodidacte, influencé par le mouvement surréaliste dans ses premières formes. Sa découverte, plus tard, de l’impressionnisme l’inspire à expérimenter avec la couleur et les capacités physiques de la peinture.

Rod Charlesworth a étudié l’art au collège d’Okanagan où son habileté à exprimer la beauté des paysages de l’ouest canadien sont mis en évidence. L’œuvre de Tom Thomson ainsi que celle du Groupe des Sept a profondément influencé le style de Charlesworth.

Armé de son engagement à peindre des images avec une forte influence culturelle canadienne, les œuvres de Charlesworth sont maintenant collectionnés à travers le monde. Que ce soit à travers ses paysages ambitieux, ou ses plus récentes représentations fantaisistes d’enfants, Charlesworth enchante avec son esthétique unique.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre