fond-galerie
Close

Search

Biography

Born in Montreal on March 8, 1956, Louise Lauzon is part of a line of artists who, by entertaining the viewer’s eye, seek to touch their spirit and their heart. From the age of fifteen, her talent was recognized by Brother Jérôme, friend and collaborator of Paul-Émile Borduas. Heir to Brother Jérôme’s innovative educational approach, she has led painting workshops at Notre-Dame College for more than twenty years. Her artistic achievements also include the creation of several illustrations.

Louise Lauzon describes her art as personal figuration. “For me, the main thing is to be present in yourself and each time you pick up the brush, to be faithful to your interiority, whether it be figurative or abstract.” Her fresh and colorful paintings take us on a journey through an enchanting and fanciful universe. Many characters come to life in a variety of places, the seaside, the city or rural scenes. Wiry, wacky and endearing, the omnipresent characters display different attitudes depending on their activities and they always manage to bring a smile to our faces.

Louise Lauzon has always made a living from her art by combining creation and animation. Her first exhibitions, including one in Paris in 1981, put her career on track. Her works are now part of important collections in Canada, the United States and Europe.

Subscribe to our newsletter

fond-galerie
Fermer

Recherchez

Présentement disponibles

Lauzon, Louise

Lauzon, Louise

Biographie

Née à Montréal le 8 mars 1956, Louise Lauzon s’inscrit dans la lignée des artistes qui, en amusant l’œil du spectateur, cherchent à atteindre son esprit et son cœur. Dès l’âge de quinze ans, son talent est reconnu par le Frère Jérôme, ami et collaborateur de Paul-Émile Borduas. Héritière de l’approche pédagogique innovatrice du Frère Jérôme, elle anime pendant plus de vingt ans des ateliers de peinture au collège Notre-Dame. Ses réalisations artistiques comportent aussi la création de plusieurs illustrations.

Louise Lauzon qualifie son art de figuration personnelle.  »Pour moi, l’essentiel est d’être présent à soi-même et chaque fois que l’on prend le pinceau, d’être fidèle à son intériorité, que cela soit figuratif ou abstrait’’. Ses tableaux frais et colorés nous font voyager à travers un univers enchanteur et fantaisiste. De nombreux personnages prennent vie dans un variété de lieux, le bord de la mer, la ville ou les scènes champêtres. Filiformes, loufoques et attachants, les personnages omniprésents affichent différentes attitudes selon leurs activités et ils réussissent toujours à nous décrocher un sourire.

Louise Lauzon a toujours vécu de son art en alliant création et animation. Ses premières expositions, dont une à Paris en 1981, ont mis sa carrière sur les rails. Ses œuvres font maintenant partie de collections importantes au Canada, au États-Unis et en Europe.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre