fond-galerie
Close

Search

Biography

Louise Lecor-Kirouac was born in 1939 into a family of artists. Her father was a theater man and a graduate of the Beaux-Arts in Paris, and her two brothers were painters. Her eldest brother, Paul-Tex Lecor, was the one who introduced her to painting. Since birth, she lived in Brownburg, rooted very closely to the land of her ancestors. She started with portraits and then fell in love with wild landscapes. Despite her many scenes of cities and streets of Quebec, she preferred to preserve the memory of villages and countryside by trying to capture their authentic aspect. Painting allowed her to visit and discover all regions of Quebec.

Her great respect for her subjects is reflected in the faithfulness of her reproductions of the countryside. She made it a point of honour to identify each of the non-fictional sites or villages reproduced accurately.

During her travels, she made sketches on the spot without finishing them. She completed her works afterwards when inspiration became an accomplice so that a village’s soul would find itself on a canvas.

Following a long illness, Louise Lecor-Kirouac died on October 27, 2018.

Subscribe to our newsletter

fond-galerie
Fermer

Recherchez

Biographie

Louise Lecor-Kirouac né en 1939 dans une famille d’artistes. Son père était homme de théâtre et diplômé des Beaux-Arts de Paris, et ses deux frères peintres. Son ainé, Paul-Tex Lecor, est celui qui l’initie à la peinture. Depuis sa naissance, elle a vécu à Brownburg, enracinée tout près de la terre de ses ancêtres. Elle commence avec des portraits pour ensuite tomber en amour avec les paysages sauvages. Malgré ses nombreuses scènes de villes, et de rues de Québec, elle préfère préserver la mémoire des village et campagnes en tentant de capturer leur aspect authentique. La peinture lui permettra de visiter et découvrir toutes les régions du Québec.

 

Son grand respect pour ses sujets se traduit dans la fidélité de ses reproductions des campagnes. Elle fait un point d’honneur à identifier avec exactitude chacun des sites ou des villages non fictifs reproduits.

 

Durant ses voyages, elle faisait des croquis sur place sans les terminer. Elle réalisait ses œuvres par la suite, lorsque l’inspiration se faisait complice, pour que l’âme d’un village se retrouve sur une toile.

 

À la suite d’une longue maladie, Louise Lecor-Kirouac décède le 27 octobre 2018.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre