fond-galerie
Close

Search

1 recent art(s) sold

Biography

Juan Cristobal Pinochet was born in Chile in 1960. Living in Quebec since the age of 17, he completed his classical studies at the Petit Séminaire de Québec and at the University of Ottawa in marketing and communication. Coming from a family of artists trained in Fine Arts, his passion for the arts led him to take an interest in painting from a young age. He assiduously attended the drawing and painting academy run by his mother Silvia Araya in Quebec City, letting his great passion for painting take its course. Landscape and classical portraiture influenced an important part of his career.

At the start of his career, he joined the artists of Old Quebec where he executed numerous pastel portraits over 10 summer seasons. There he began his apprenticeship in realism, observed his subjects and developed his skill in capturing resemblance. Influenced by the great outdoor painters of the previous generation, he seeks to translate light and colour in his work.

During the last decade he has allowed himself to be overcome by new challenges. His vision of art evolved through creativity towards a more contemporary art. He now creates his paintings with more expressive gestures and greater chromatic freedom. Taking up the same themes; landscape, city, portrait, nude and still life, he now detaches himself from realism to move towards partial figuration and even semi-abstraction.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Cristobal

Cristobal

-

Juan Cristobal Pinochet est né au Chili en 1960. Établi au Québec depuis l’âge de 17 ans, il a fait ses études classiques au Petit Séminaire de Québec et à l’Université d’Ottawa en marketing et communication. Issu d’une famille d’artistes formés aux Beaux-Arts, sa passion pour les arts le conduit à s’intéresser à la peinture dès son jeune âge. Il fréquente assidument l’académie de dessin et peinture dirigée par sa mère Silvia Araya dans la ville de Québec, laissant sa grande passion pour la peinture suivre son cours. Le paysage et le portrait classique ont influencé une partie importante de son parcours.

Au début de sa carrière, il joint les artistes du Vieux-Québec où il exécute de nombreux portraits en pastel pendant 10 saisons estivales. Il y débute son apprentissage du réalisme, observe ses sujets et développe son adresse à capter la ressemblance. Influencé par les grands peintres de plein air de la génération précédente, il cherche à traduire la lumière et la couleur dans son œuvre.

Durant la dernière décennie il se laisse habiter par des nouveaux défis. Sa vision de l’art évolue par la créativité vers un art plus contemporain. Il réalise ses tableaux avec une gestuelles plus expressive et une plus grande liberté chromatique. Reprenant les mêmes thèmes; paysage, ville, portrait, nu et nature morte, il se détache maintenant du réalisme pour aller vers une figuration partielle et même une semi abstraction.

Demande de renseignements

Artistes