fond-galerie
Close

Search

Biography

Roger Alexandre was born in 1942 in Montreal and has lived in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu since 1946. With more than 30 years of experience as a painter and teacher, he has produced numerous solo and group exhibitions in Quebec, in Canada, the United States and France. He also won first prize in the poster competition organized by the United Nations Association for the International Year of Peace in 1986.

Despite being mainly self-taught, he also studied painting with Brother Jérôme. He was then able to immerse himself in the group of Automatists formed around Paul-Émile Borduas, whose art was intended as a writing technique not controlled by consciousness.

His style translates into a stylized and stripped-down realism, as well as a palette of soft colors that fit into an absolute contrast. His paintings encourage contemplation and introspection thanks to a constant change of scenery. Through his art, he creates a limitless world.

Subscribe to our newsletter

fond-galerie
Fermer

Recherchez

Biographie

Roger Alexandre est né en 1942 à Montréal et il est établi à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu depuis 1946. Avec plus de 30 ans de carrière à titre de peintre et d’enseignant, il a réalisé de nombreuses expositions solos et de groupe, au Québec, au Canada, aux États-Unis et en France. Il est également récipiendaire d’un premier prix au concours d’affiches organisé par l’Association des Nations Unies pour l’Année internationale de la paix en 1986.

 

Malgré qu’il soit principalement autodidacte, il a aussi étudié la peinture avec Frère Jérôme. Il s’est imprégné du groupe des Automatistes formé autour de Paul-Émile Borduas, dont l’art se voulait une technique d’écriture non contrôlée par la conscience

 

Son style se traduit par un réalisme stylisé et dépouillé, ainsi que d’une palette de couleurs douces s’insérant dans un contraste absolu. Ses toiles encouragent la contemplation et l’introspection grâce à un dépaysement assuré. Grâce à son art, il crée un monde sans limite.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre