fond-galerie
Close

Search

2 recent art(s) sold

Biography

Born in 1965 in Quebec, Stefan Horik traveled a lot during his childhood. His family finally settled down in an old farm in Charlevoix where his father began painting full time. Although he was introduced to painting very early on, he first turned to music as a form of artistic expression. He studied for two years at the Conservatoire de musique de Québec before switching to computer science at the University of Sherbrooke. It was also at this time that he began to draw more seriously again.

Stefan obtained his baccalaureate in 1989 and returned to Baie-Saint-Paul where he founded his computer company. Painting, only a hobby until that point, became a true passion for him. Having long admired the landscapes of his region, his first works were figurative scenes inspired by Charlevoix.

In 1996, he exhibited for the first time at the Baie-Saint-Paul Art Center as part of the Panorama event. The sale of several paintings during the summer encouraged him and fueled his passion. In 2001, he sold his business to devote himself to his art. He then had his first solo exhibition and enjoyed great success.

Over time, Stefan has been finding his own style. He explored other avenues and turned to spatula painting. His work, more contemporary in style, is now created in a very spontaneous way.

Subscribe to our newsletter

fond-galerie
Fermer

Recherchez

2 oeuvre(s) récemment vendu(s)

Biographie

Né en 1965 à Québec, Stefan Horik a beaucoup voyagé pendant son enfance. Sa famille s’est finalement établie dans une vieille ferme de Charlevoix où son père s’est mis à peindre à plein temps. Bien qu’il soit initié très tôt à la peinture, c’est d’abord vers la musique qu’il se tourne comme forme d’expression artistique. Il étudie pendant deux ans au Conservatoire de musique de Québec avant de se réorienter en informatique à l’Université de Sherbrooke. C’est aussi à cette époque qu’il recommence à dessiner plus sérieusement.

Stefan obtient son baccalauréat en 1989 et retourne s’établir à Baie-Saint-Paul où il fonde son entreprise d’informatique. La peinture, alors un loisir, devient une véritable passion pour lui. Ayant longtemps admiré les paysages de sa région, ses premières œuvres sont des scènes figuratives inspirées de Charlevoix.

En 1996, il expose pour la première fois au Centre d’art de Baie-Saint-Paul dans le cadre de l’événement Panorama. La vente de plusieurs tableaux durant l’été l’encourage et alimente sa passion. En 2001, il vend son entreprise pour se consacrer à son art. Il fait alors une première exposition solo et connait un vif succès.

Au fil du temps, Stefan trouve un style bien à lui. Il explore d’autres avenues et se tourne vers la peinture à la spatule. Ses œuvres, plus contemporaines, sont maintenant créées de façon très spontanée.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre