fond-galerie
Close

Search

7 recent art(s) sold

Biography

Born in Québec in 1956, St Gilles has established himself as a major influence in the world of landscape artistry. Since 1999, this lover of nature has challenged himself to not only travel the country to paint scenes from all the provinces and territories but to do it with a special connection to his subject.

St Gilles studied in Ste Foy where he obtained a diploma in Aesthetic Presentation. He also began painting at a young age and was tutored by Arthur Genest, Paul Brien Mario Mauro and Bruno Côté. He first attracted attention with his watercolours and later with his oil paintings, a medium he still works with today.

At the early age of 23, St Gilles held his first solo exhibition. His career got off to an excellent start as he broke into the Montreal market in 1981. Since then the artist has held over 25 solo exhibitions throughout Canada.

Subscribe to our newsletter

fond-galerie
Fermer

Recherchez

7 oeuvre(s) récemment vendu(s)

Biographie

Né à Québec en 1956, St-Gilles s’impose comme l’un des peintres paysagistes les plus influents de sa génération. Depuis 1999, cet amoureux de grande nature se consacre à un défi de taille; sillonner le pays de part en part pour peindre l’ensemble des provinces et des territoires canadiens.

St-Gilles a étudié au collège de Sainte-Foy et détient un diplôme d’études collégiales en esthétique de présentation. Il a commencé très jeune à étudier la peinture. Il s’initia à cet art auprès d’Arthur Genest, puis de Paul Brien, de Mario Mauro et de Bruno Côté. L’artiste s’est fait connaître d’abord par ses aquarelles, puis pour ses huiles, technique qu’il pratique toujours aujourd’hui.

À seulement 23 ans, St-Gilles tient sa première exposition solo. Sa carrière connait un excellent départ et il perce dans le marché montréalais dès 1981. Depuis, l’artiste a tenu plus de 25 expositions solos à travers le Canada.

 

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre